

Tydd St. Mary Church of England School Knowledge Organiser

Key Vocabulary

United Kingdom	The UK, is officially known as the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland. It includes England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland.
capital city	The city where the government sits. London is the capital city of England and the UK.
city	a large town. London is a city.
compass point	any of the main points of a compass: north, south, east and west
country	an area of land that is controlled its own government.
England Scotland Northern Ireland Wales	a country in the United Kingdom.
Great Britain	An island that is made up of England, Scotland and Wales.
London Edinburgh Belfast Cardiff	Capital cities in UK.
Union Jack	The flag that represents the Unit Kingdom

Key Knowledge

- 1. We live in the United Kingdom (UK) which is a country in Europe.
- 2. The UK is made up of 4 countries, England, Scotland, Northern Ireland and Wales.
- 3. London, Edinburgh, Belfast and Cardiff are the capital cities of UK countries.
- 4. The UK is an island surrounded by 3 seas, The North Sea, The English Channel and The Irish Sea.
- 5. There are 4 seasons throughout the year in the UK, Summer being the hottest and Winter being the coldest.





